Expatriates of Eight Countries to Do Residency Procedures at Home Country

Sunday, November 17, 2017

The Peninsula -- In a landmark move, Qatar has made residency procedure easier for expatriates workers headed to Qatar.


The Ministry of Interior signed (MoI) an agreement today with a Singapore-based company, Biomet, to simplify the residency procedures of expatriate workers coming to Qatar by completing them at their home countries.


As per the agreement, those coming for work in Qatar can complete their medical checkup, record their bio-metric data and fingerprint and sign their work contracts at their home countries before coming to Qatar.


Once the procedure is done in the native country, it will not be repeated in Qatar. The documents will be verified and checked at Hamad International Airport on entry to Qatar.


The project will be implemented in its first phase in eight countries -  India, Nepal, SriLanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Indonesia, Philippines and Tunisia - as the workers from these countries constitute 80% of the total workforce in Qatar, MoI said on Twitter.


The new system of completing residency visa procedures at the home countries of workers will start within four months by opening the first of such centers in SriLanka, and it will be followed by opening the centers in all other seven countries.


Seven centers will be set up in India while four in Pakistan, three in each of Bangladesh and Indonesia, two in the Philippines and one in each of SriLanka, Nepal and Tunisia to provide medical examination, bio-metric data capture and work contract signing for workers coming to Qatar.


The centers in the eight countries will be monitored by MoI.


The centers in India will be located in Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Lucknow, Bangalore and Kochi.

Karachi, Islamabad, Lahore and Peshawar in Pakistan.

Dhaka, Chittagong and Sylhet in Bangladesh.

Jakarta, Bandung and Semarang in Indonesia.

Colombo and Kathmandu in Sri Lanka and Nepal respectively.

Manila and Cebu in Philippines.

Tunis in Tunisia.